The Artist’s Way

If you have never heard the name Julia Cameron, she is, put simply, a woman on a mission. That mission is to help people become unblocked so that they can uncover their creative potential. Whether you are a writer, a painter, a sculptor, an actress, Julia believes she has the tools to help you realise your full potential.

I was introduced to this course over two years ago by my creative writing teacher, Stella*. She saw that I had a talent for writing and encouraged me to put more time into it. It is because of her that I am applying for my Masters in Journalism this year. However, whilst I carried out 12-week course set out by Julia, I did what I usually do whenever I finish a course – I forget everything I learned. I said that I am applying for my Masters, but what I didn’t tell you was that I applied for the exact same postgraduate course two years ago, and I was accepted. Somewhere along the way, however, I convinced myself that I was dreaming. I could never be a professional writer. So I turned down the offer, and it has haunted me ever since.

There’s no denying that a sensible person should aim for the highest paying career, even if that means putting your dreams aside. I spent two years not sure what I wanted to do. I had convinced myself that I wanted to be a counsellor, to help those who were too afraid to speak about their anxieties. I had finally gained an interview for a Masters in Psychotherapy last summer, and…

…it was a disaster.

The college had no intention of taking me on. They wanted me to do their foundation Psychotherapy course first, which would have been too much money for me afford. I cried in the interview and I cried afterwards. I’m the kind of person who needs to have a direction in life, and at that moment, I was stuck at a crossroads. No doors had closed, and it took me a while to realise that I just needed to set myself a new path. I kept thinking of the missed opportunity I had with the Journalism course. I went as far as asking for spiritual advice on what to do. The reply came to me very clearly: you already know what you want to do. I wanted to do Journalism.

At this stage it was too late to apply for the academic year of 2012-2013 so I decided I would explore my new road map. Over the past few months I have discovered that I have a talent for proofreading, and I find it quite enjoyable. I invested in a worthwhile eBook on Proofreading and began doing freelance work online. I haven’t been paid a whole lot, but I didn’t expect to be. I wanted to experience, but more importantly, I wanted to know if this was what I truly wanted.

I would be lying if I said that I am now certain that this is the direction I want to take. Part of me is still terrified of perhaps choosing the wrong option. I am surrounded by both supportive people and sceptical people; conflicting arguments ringing in my ears day in and day out. I had to find a way to help myself to block out the negative and listen to my inner artist.

The Artist’s Way once again lay in front of me and I made it my New Year’s resolution to redo the course, this time with more commitment and determination. I am currently on week four, and I would like you to follow me as I try my best to do this course right and become the confident, self-motivated person I have so long craved to be.

Leave a Reply

