Tool Two: The Artist’s Date

The Hellfire Club

I haven’t discussed tool one incase you’re confused. I would just like to talk about this one first. According to Julia Cameron, this is an essential tool to unlocking one’s creativity. She describes it as ‘play’. Basically, for two hours a day, or more if you can spare it, we are to do something we enjoy with just ourselves and our inner artist. This can simply be going to the library, the Museum of Art, or a gig.

For me it wasn’t so simple. I still live at home with my parents and you may think that finding time to myself would be an easy task. This would be the case if I didn’t have a flexible job and I felt the need to make my mother’s life easier by splitting the chores. No, I’m not feeling sorry for myself. Helping my mother is the least I can do. In fact, I have managed to get away from the house and embark on some interesting Artist’s Dates.

The first one I’m quite proud of was going into the city one Tuesday morning when I wasn’t working. I grabbed breakfast in my favourite cafe, got my hair cut in the most polite salon I had even been to, purchased some Winter clothes at bargain prices in my favourite clothes store and basically just browsed. It felt good to be out on my own, there was just one issue. I cannot turn off my phone, not even at night, you never know when there might be an emergency. No sooner had I finished my breakfast, right at the beginning of my Date, when my best friend rang me freaking out because he was being evicted from his house. I managed to enjoy my day, but this dilemma niggled at the back of my mind throughout. In the end, he wasn’t evicted so the whole drama could’ve been spared.

Another Date I am proud of was walking up to the Hellfire Club in the Dublin mountains with my dog. I had only ventured to these ruins during the night with my boyfriend and a group of Americans two years back. It was Halloween night, but I didn’t experience anything paranormal, though one of the American girls fainted at the bottom of the stairs.

My dog had a great time. It was a long trek up to the club and I was amazed at just how many people had the same idea. I even got a high-five from a girl who loved my panda hat. There is a beautiful view of Dublin from the club and I sat down at burnt out campfire to appreciate it. Unfortunately, I still hadn’t turned off my phone and was given the task of collecting smooth rocks for my mother and her pet memorial garden. If I had have brought my backpack it would have been no trouble at all.

That was last Sunday. It is now Friday of week six and I have yet to figure out what do for two hours by myself. Right now, all I want to do is read without having to worry about my to-do list. I’m in work in a couple of hours and I have to bring my dog out before then. To be honest, I think the perfect Artist’s Date for me right now would be to simply turn off my phone!

Leave a Reply

