Going Cruelty-free in a Small Country (Like Ireland)

The Cosmetics Directive’s ban on animal testing in the European Union came into play in 2013. According to the legislation, no finished cosmetic products will be sold in the European Union if it has been tested on animals. It also applies to the marketing of animal tested products.

For a majority of Europe, that might be seen as done and dusted, but how can such laws be enforced? Certain companies continue to test their products on animals outside of the EU. Surely if they’ve found a way to test their products without the use of animals, they wouldn’t need to do this, right? China is the only exception, as it legally requires cosmetics to be tested on animals.

I hold my hand up as someone who doesn’t trust that the new legislation has been completely enforced. That does not mean to say that the purpose of this article is to discourage others from distrusting it too, I am simply exploring my journey to becoming cruelty-free cosmetically in such a small country in comparison to the likes of America, where most cruelty-free products are made (I assume!).

So where do you start?

Google may seem like the obvious first choice, and it’s certainly a good resource, but I figured it would be best to go through my hoards of cosmetics to discover which, if any, are definitely not tested on animals. And it turns out, I have a LOT of cosmetics!

  • Shampoo
  • Conditioner
  • Toiletries PicMoisturiser
  • Cleanser
  • Toothpaste
  • Floss
  • Mouthwash
  • Body Lotion
  • Hairspray
  • Dry Shampoo
  • Shaving Gel
  • Sun Cream
  • Frizz Serum
  • Hair Smoothing Cream
  • Hand Cream
  • Deodorant
  • Perfume
  • Nail Hardener

Which of these products that I owned when beginning this journey were cruelty-free?

One!

My Batiste Dry Shampoo.

I suddenly realised I possibly had an expensive shopping trip on the horizon, and this bothered me. Was it extortion to charge more for cruelty-free products. This thought was influenced by a store that I knew was operating in Ireland and its marketing campaign was purely based on their No Animal Testing policy: Lush. In the beginning I felt that this was my only non-Internet option of buying cruelty-free products. But then I explored my options some more.

Each week I will be posting my cruelty-free cosmetic finds based on the list above. Feel free to comment with recommendations, whether in Ireland or anywhere else in the world, whether they need to be purchased online or not. Sharing resources is probably the best way to finding the right products for you.

Sources

https://www.cosmeticseurope.eu/safety-and-science-cosmetics-europe/alternative-methods/the-cosmetics-directive-ban-on-animals-in-testing.html

2 thoughts on “Going Cruelty-free in a Small Country (Like Ireland)

    • Thank you! I look forward to reading your blog!

      I feel this topic is very under-reported outside the U.S. so I’m glad there are ample contributors on WordPress 🙂

Leave a Reply

