Going Cruelty Free #4: Dental Hygiene

For me, dental hygiene is more important than anything else when it comes to looking after my body. I have had periodontal treatment, as well as orthodontic treatment, so keeping my gums and teeth healthy is a priority. What worried me about going cruelty free in dental products is finding out that my prescribed mouthwash was tested on animals. I want to take the word of professionals so I don’t end up in that periodontist’s ridiculously comfortable, but greatly expensive, chair. I decided to start small and changed my toothpaste. I had been using Colgate Sensitive Pro-Relief, so first I went looking for a cruelty-free toothpaste, and naturally, I first tried Superdrug.

I’m still using Oral B dental floss because I’m a waste not, want not kind of person. And mouthwash, my prescribed mouthwash, is Corsodyl Daily, which unfortunately does test on animals. What are my alternatives?

Superdrug

Superdrug have their own dental range, complete with Leaping Bunny logo, and my first dental purchase from them was their own brand sensitive toothpaste. So far, I have no complaints, I guess I’ll learn on my next dental visit if my gums are still healthy. They also stock their own brand, cruelty-free mouthwash and dental floss (including sensitive floss), which will be worth a try once my Corsodyl and Oral B floss runs out.

Lush

Lush aren’t big on dental hygiene, but they do stock tooth tabs and tooth powder. I couldn’t imagine how tooth tabs worked, but apparently you bite down on them and they create a foam you can brush into your teeth and gums. Knowing my luck, I’d accidentally swallow them before biting them! Their tooth powder is only available in their Oxford Street store in London, so it doesn’t apply to this blog.

Available in [most] Health Stores

It’s safe to say that most cruelty-free dental products will be found in health stores, such as Holland & Barrett and The Health Store. You can also find them on Evergreen.ie, an Irish website. These products include:

  • Jack N’Jill Kids
  • Desert Essence
  • JASON
  • Weleda
  • Lavera
  • Kingfisher
  • Optima
  • Aloe Dent
  • Dr. Organic

All of these brands stock toothpastes and mouthwashes, but be sure to check about dental floss. While pricy, they are guaranteed not to be tested on animals. Also check their ingredients to ensure that your teeth and gums are getting the appropriate treatment.

As always, if anyone knows of other brands, especially those available in Ireland, that are cruelty-free, please let me know in the comments below.

Sources

http://www.ethicalconsumer.org/scoredetails.aspx?ProductId=1320657

One thought on “Going Cruelty Free #4: Dental Hygiene

Leave a Reply

