Going Cruelty-Free: Don’t Be Fooled!

When I decided to go cruelty-free, I had to acknowledge that there are products who claim to be cruelty-free that in fact are not. My first step was consult PETA’s cruelty-free list but, as I stated at the beginning of this blog series, most of the products on that list are not available in Ireland. I also explored the Leaping Bunny list and downloaded the app onto my phone, but again, many of the products I would have to order online and pay delivery charges. Lush was my safe option in the beginning because I could be certain that their products are indeed cruelty-free. Unfortunately they’re also quite expensive, which is why I explored.

A Google search on what products were trying to fool their consumers didn’t turn up much. I was advised that there are only THREE labels to trust when it comes to buying cruelty-free products:

  1. Leaping Bunny
  2. Caring ConsumerLabels
  3. CCF Rabbit

How could I believe that, though? I had seen other labels that were genuine too, such as Batiste. Even Lush don’t sport any of the three labels. Some approved cruelty-free brands sport labels such as ‘Approved by the Vegan Society’ or ‘Fight Animal Testing’. This makes my situation a little more difficult, as it came be frustrating to come across a cruelty-free label and then having to research it before you purchase.

One such product I was nearly fooled by was Original Source. They claimed to be cruelty-free on the back of their products, but when I did my research, I discovered that this was not the case at all. It’s absolutely sickening that companies would try to fool their consumers like that. Perhaps I have to believe it due to the new EU regulations prohibiting products to be sold containingĀ animal tested ingredients, but I know that they are in the minority who test their products on animals outside the EU, and so I refuse to purchase it.

From what I’ve seen, The Body Shop does not bear any cruelty-free labels, yet I have found them on several cruelty-free lists. It could be due to the fact that their parent company, L’Oreal, promotes animal testing, though this is not always the case, e.g. Burt’s Bees.

I encourage anyone going cruelty-free to research the label on the products they wish to buy. While it is important not to trust every label that claims to be cruelty-free, don’t assume that it isn’t cruelty-free just because it’s not one of the three labels listed above.

Thank you for reading this series, I hope you enjoyed it! Happy shopping!

One thought on “Going Cruelty-Free: Don’t Be Fooled!

  1. I agree! I’ve been doing my own research and it’s all so confusing who is and who isn’t. It’s important for consumers to do their research and to be well informed. There should be some standardization to make it easier for the average person.

Leave a Reply

