Motivation against depression

I have been absent from WordPress for so long and it’s my lack of motivation that is to blame. I want to use mindfulness as a way to help me overcome my depression but how can I do that if I can’t even motivate myself to meditate?

You can Google solutions on how to get motivated and come up with the same answer: get on with it. I’ll admit that once I start a task, my motivation perks up a bit. But prior to doing it, it feels like a chore. No matter how good I feel after meditating, for example, it will still become a source of dread and/or reluctance the next time I do it.

And so now my blog seems to have taken a U-turn. I wanted to explore my journey with mindfulness and rediscover my passion for writing. However, while this is a step backwards, I will not consider it a failure. Perhaps I simply need to overcome certain hurdles before I can move on, in other words, maybe I jumped into mindfulness too quickly. Don’t get me wrong, I want to continue meditating, but I accept that it will take me time before it becomes part of my routine, like brushing my teeth and getting dressed in the morning.

One step at a time.

I haven’t been idle since my last entry. While I haven’t been doing much writing, I have asked my mother to spend an hour each week teaching me to knit. It’s something I got into years ago but gradually lost interest. I even drew a picture!

Even writing this required me to push myself, so forgive me if my entries continue to be sporadic. And thank you in advance for sticking with me!

One thought on “Motivation against depression

Leave a Reply

