“Why don’t you write a book?”

A girl I work with introduced me to a book entitled Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney. Her roommate is apparently friends with the author, who sold the book for half a million euro. Immediately I was bitter but then I decided to take a step back and remind myself that I haven’t written in so long. This girl obviously went to a lot of trouble and it paid off for her, so I should be happy for her. I decided to prove this to myself by going out and buying the book. I haven’t read it yet, but I plan to start it once I finish reading my current book.51KAGMZ0wwL

When I told my sister about it, the first thing she said to me was “why do you write a book?”. Obviously that’s been my dream, but I was honest with her about my lack of motivation for writing anymore. She encouraged me nonetheless and her words have stuck with me. I have an idea, but I can’t bring myself to write it in fear of losing interest like I always do, even if I follow the mantra I mentioned in a previous entry:

Get it done now, get it right later

I’ve fixed my laptop so there’s no longer the excuse of that being the issue. I’d love to bring my laptop somewhere and write, not just at home. I don’t drink coffee so unfortunately that’s not an option. Would they let me stay there if I just drank milk or water? I couldn’t even imagine having one of their snacks because of my selective eating habits.

If I can push myself to do yoga, to go for a walk every other lunchtime, to meditate each morning, why can’t I push myself to write?

5 thoughts on ““Why don’t you write a book?”

  1. I’ve read (from quite a few people) that the best way to start is to set aside a specific time to write every day, e.g., 9a – 9:15a. Then write whatever comes into your head, even if it’s nonsense. As time goes by, you’ll get your focus and want to spend more time at it. I don’t think you can force yourself to be creative. I think it just comes once your mind relaxes enough to let it through.

Leave a Reply

