A long lost friend

My Headspace app sends me insightful messages throughout the day. Yesterday I received the following (and I’m paraphrasing):

Is there a friend you haven’t seen in a while who would love to hear from you? Why not give them a call?

I immediately thought of S. We met in college and became friends. She is one of the sweetest people I know and it was sad to realise that we had in fact fallen out of touch with each other. I was in work when I received this prompt, so I messaged her through Facebook.

We texted all day and I learned that she is seven months pregnant! I was really out of the loop, which added to my guilt. She invited me to her baby shower next Saturday, but I’ll be away in Budapest so we’ve agreed to meet the following Saturday. I’m really looking forward to seeing her, and I’m determined not to let us fall out of touch again, unless she’s sick of me!

One thought on “A long lost friend

Leave a Reply

