Making a house a home

Nothing like a trip to IKEA to make you realise just how much a house needs. Then going to visit your brother’s new house and see how empty it is.

I’ve spent the last couple of years buying stuff – small stuff – for my future house. It was encouraged by my neighbour and one of my closest friends, the latter of whom has filled his aunt’s house with his future decor. My mam is planning to do up the room where I’m storing my stuff so I’ll need to find a new home for it.

Here is what I have so far:

  • Towels
  • Bed set
  • Cutlery
  • Frying pan
  • Shoe storage cupboard
  • Crockery
  • Chopping board
  • Scissors
  • Sandwich toaster
  • Grill
  • Key holder
  • Peg holder (there is a word for that but I can’t think of it right now)
  • Toilet seat (a SLOW closing toilet seat!)
  • Washing machine (which is in my neighbour’s shed)
  • A vase with glass flowers I got myself in Budapest

Little things we have include a couple of engagement presents. And I’ve ordered an egg holder (I know, right?) for the second time – the first time it didn’t deliver and I got a refund – and it hasn’t yet been dispatched a week later.

It doesn’t seem like I’ve made a huge dent in everything we will need, but hopefully this gives us a little head start. Anyone have any recommendations that no household should be without?

4 thoughts on “Making a house a home

  1. Moving out was an interesting experience. For the longest time I would come across situations were I would realize “oh yeah, I need to buy one of those because I don’t own one.”

Leave a Reply

